A Night at the Oscars Sparkled with Fun, Glamour and Excitement!

Following the devastation of Hurricane Harvey, it was good to celebrate. The 2017 Chamber Chairman’s Gala was memorable in many ways, especially for its theme: A Night at the Oscars.  If you had not seen the Houston Show Choir before, you were treated to their enthusiasm, extensive musical repertoire and staging. Additional entertainment included: David Flores Jazz Combo, HITS Theatre, Susan Martin Blues, and the Houston Horizon Reunion Quartet. All of whom brought forth their special talents and contributed greatly to the evening’s enjoyment.

And for the first time, an “after party” was staged at Harold’s rooftop across 19th street.

Award recipients and nominees included:

Rising Star Award recipient was MaryBeth Wegner. Nominees were: Brooke Brown, Paige Cassel-Williams and Darren Tompkins.

Buy Local Award  recipient was Jack Van Pelt. Nominees were: Kathryn and Sybren Van der Pol, Alli Jarrett and Sara Perez.

Business of the Year Award recipient was Houston Highway Credit Union. Nominees were Members Trust of the SW Federal Credit Union, Memorial Hermann Greater Heights Hospital and PrimeWay Federal Credit Union.

Volunteer of the Year Award  recipient was Cindy Reibenstein. Nominees were Bonnie Sheeren, Garden Oaks Montessori School and North Side High School.

President’s Award  recipient was Gene Reynolds.

The Chairman’s Award  was presented by Chair Cindy Reibenstein and the recipients were all the members of the Chamber.

Special Recognition Awards were given to Jan Stephenson, John Frels, Natalie Coyle and Josh Alberto for all their hard work on behalf of the Chamber.

Special appreciation is due for the Gala Committee Chair Teresa Nicolas-Briggs and Vice Chair Josh Alberto of Houston Highway Credit Union. Thanks to Dee Farino for sponsorships/ Debbie Adams and Amy Ritter for decorations/ Craig Atkinson for finance/ Belinda Rossiter and John Frels for silent auction items/ MaryBeth Wegner for the wine auction/ Julia Hayes for artist liaison/ Jessica Leone for swag bags/ and Cheryl Sowder, Salma Estrada and Adams A Team for the crew.

2017-10-03T14:05:55+00:00 October 3rd, 2017|Chamber News|